Sunday, November 11, 2007

US House Resolution 782

Thanks to Texas Gal for pointing out the way to this -- the US House introduced a resolution in honor of the Red Sox victory on October 30 - it is awesome reading! House Resolution 782
Here's the text:
1st Session

H. RES. 782

Expressing the sense of the House with respect to the Boston Red Sox victory in the 2007 Major League Baseball World Series.


October 30, 2007

Mr. CAPUANO (for himself, Mr. MARKEY, Mr. FRANK of Massachusetts, Mr. NEAL of Massachusetts, Mr. OLVER, Mr. MCGOVERN, Mr. TIERNEY, Mr. DELAHUNT, Mr. LYNCH, Ms. TSONGAS, Ms. SHEA-PORTER, Mr. HODES, Mr. ALLEN, Mr. MICHAUD, Mr. WELCH of Vermont, Mr. KENNEDY, Mr. LANGEVIN, Ms. DELAURO, Mr. SHAYS, Mr. LARSON of Connecticut, Mr. COURTNEY, and Mr. MURPHY of Connecticut) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform


Expressing the sense of the House with respect to the Boston Red Sox victory in the 2007 Major League Baseball World Series.

Whereas in the early moments of October 29, 2007, the Boston Red Sox won their second World Series title in four seasons by besting the Colorado Rockies in just four games;

Whereas the Red Sox won their seventh world title in the 107-year history of the storied franchise;

Whereas the 2007 Red Sox World Champion team epitomized sportsmanship, selfless play, team spirit, determination, and heart in the course of winning 96 games in the regular season, winning the American League East Division Championship;

Whereas Josh Beckett, the major league's only 20-game winner in the 2007 regular season, cemented his place as one of the greatest post-season pitchers of all time, winning four games in the playoffs, including a dominating performance in Game One of the World Series, and keeping the hopes of Red Sox Nation alive by overpowering the Cleveland Indians in Game 5 of the American League Championship series when the team was down 3 games to 1;

Whereas Curt Schilling proved once again his greatness as a post-season pitcher by winning Game 2 of the World Series;

Whereas rookie sensation Daisuke Matsuzaka followed with a win in Game 3, tossing his famed gyroball on baseball's biggest stage;

Whereas left-hander Jon Lester completed a storybook comeback by overcoming adversity and leading his team to victory from the mound by pitching 5 and two-thirds scoreless innings, winning Game Four and completing the sweep;

Whereas Mike Lowell was named the Most Valuable Player of the World Series after batting .400 while scoring six runs and batting in four more, capping off a stellar regular season with an equally impressive post-season and capturing a richly deserved honor;

Whereas Jonathan Papelbon demonstrated complete dominance as the team's closer, saving three of the four World Series games for the Red Sox and not allowing a run in the 10 and two thirds post-season innings he pitched;

Whereas team captain Jason Varitek once again exemplified the qualities that make him a great team's great captain, guiding his pitching staff with patience and determination, and making one of the toughest positions in baseball seem effortless;

Whereas the 2007 post-season produced many memorable moments from young players and veterans alike, including emerging talents like Dustin Pedroia, Jacoby Ellsbury, and Hideki Okajima and more seasoned players like Kevin Youkilis, J.D. Drew, Bobby Kielty, Coco Crisp, Julio Lugo, and Mike Timlin;

Whereas David Ortiz and Manny Ramirez further enhanced their legendary status as two of the game's greatest hitters ever throughout the regular season and beyond;

Whereas the 2007 Red Sox also included the longest serving member of the Red Sox franchise, Tim Wakefield, along with other integral players Manny Delcarmen, Julian Tavarez, Eric Gagne, Javier Lopez, Kyle Snyder, Doug Mirabelli, Alex Cora, and Eric Hinske;

Whereas the 2007 season brought fans many magical moments, including rookie Clay Buchholz's September no-hitter in just his second major league start;

Whereas Red Sox Manager Terry Francona continued to lead his team with grace and a steady hand, transforming them into one of the greatest Red Sox teams of all time and capturing his second World Series title in just 4 short years;

Whereas Red Sox owners John Henry and Tom Werner and Red Sox President and Chief Executive Officer Larry Lucchino continued their quest to field the best team in baseball, culminating in another World Series celebration for Red Sox Nation;

Whereas Red Sox Executive Vice President/General Manager Theo Epstein assembled all the parts for a winning team that featured the major league's best pitching staff, a dominant offense, and most important, the hearts and souls of true champions;

Whereas the entire Red Sox organization maintains a strong commitment to charitable causes in New England, demonstrated by the team's decades-long support of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute's Jimmy Fund in the fight against childhood cancers;

Whereas Red Sox fans are everywhere, in the ball parks of opposing teams, in every State in the Union and in many foreign lands; and

Whereas a grateful Red Sox Nation thanks the team for an unforgettable season and for bringing another World Championship home to Boston: Now, therefore, be it

    Resolved, That the House of Representatives--
      (1) congratulates--
        (A) the Boston Red Sox for winning the 2007 Major League Baseball World Series and for all of their accomplishments during a stellar 2007 regular season; and
        (B) the eight Major League Baseball teams that played in the postseason;
      (2) recognizes the achievements of the Boston Red Sox players, manager, coaches, and support staff whose hard work, dedication, and spirit made this all possible;
      (3) commends--
        (A) the Colorado Rockies for a solid year, including an impressive late season surge that brought them to their first World Series; and
        (B) the fans and management of the Colorado Rockies for their hospitality towards all the Red Sox fans who traveled to Denver for the World Series; and
      (4) directs the Clerk of the House of Representatives to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to--
        (A) the 2007 Boston Red Sox team;
        (B) Red Sox Manager Terry Francona;
        (C) Red Sox General Manager Theo Epstein;
        (D) Red Sox President and Chief Executive Officer Larry Lucchino;
        (E) Red Sox Principal Owner John Henry; and
        (F) Red Sox Chairman Tom Werner.

It reads like a fan letter, doesn't it? Who says Congress gets nothing accomplished!



Post a Comment

<< Home